Skip to content

[RGSS3] Alternative EXP Gain

November 14, 2012

Alternative EXP Gain

by Legacy

Introduction:

I made this script because I personally wanted more control over the EXP rate instead of using the database’s curve system, which in my eyes, is lacking any advanced control over how EXP is distributed.

Now you can set how much EXP is needed to reach the Level it is associated with.

Compatibility:
No Issues known currently, however it is unlikely to work with RPG Maker VX without some adjustment.

Screenshots:

None needed.

Script:

You can download this script via my PasteBin

Terms & Conditions:
You can find the Terms & Conditions of my scripts under the “Usage” section in the scripts header.

Additional Notes:
You are free to use this in commercial and non-commercial games, all I ask in return is to be credited. Thanks.

It’s Plug & Play, so enjoy!

– Legacy

From → RGSS3 Scripts

5 Comments
  1. RandomName permalink

    Hi, I got a little problem with this script when combined with Yanfly adjust limits.
    It works perfectly until level 1902 but the game crash when setting experience for level 1903 or highter. Is it a level problem or an experience cap ? ( more than 1 900 000~ )

    Is it fixable ? Thanks 🙂

    • Well, this is a problem I never thought I’d encounter.

      I’m not sure what’s causing this to fail, but I can give it a look over for you later in the week.

      As for no w I’d suggest a cap on your level increases, until the problem is addressed.

      • RandomName permalink

        Ok, thank you, it’s not urgent at all 🙂
        By the way, I use SM (SuperMacro) with variables to imput that much data information in few minutes.
        And the game crash when setting level 1903 or more WHEN receiving experience points.

  2. RandomName permalink

    Ok, I tested many things and the problem do not seems to be the amount of total EXP but “stack level is too deep”.

    I’m pasting the script I’m using ( I have comented line from level 1001 to 10000 ) so this script works with yanfly’s adjust limits but if you remove the comented area it don’t work anymore.
    (I have checked the limitation set into the Yanfly’s script so, the probem is not here).

    http://pastebin.com/Qccr7ZVq

    I was using a macro to imput that much data information but I was stupid, I just had to masterise the CONCATENATE function in excel efficiently…

    I don’t know if that’s matter but the actual formula is :
    Level 1 base EXP = 1
    Next level required total EXP = (Previous level EXP + 1) + (2 x Previous level number.value)

    LV1 => 1
    LV10 => 100
    LV100 => 10 000
    LV 500 => 250 000
    LV1000 => 1 000 000

    and so on…

    So, I would like to know if this is possible to find a way to evade the “stack level too deep” by creating thousand by thousand level of EXP trails ?
    Or if there is one other way…

    • Hey, sorry I’ve only just noticed this. I’ll take a look into the problem when I’ve got some spare time. If you would like to contact me over IM, let me know

Leave a comment

王国興亡記

The Anvil of Legacy. (Script Archive)

Zeriab's thoughts

Who knows what may lurk in there

Ramiro + RMVXA = ♥

Ramiro's script collection for ACE!

Yanfly Channel

ALWAYS check the front page. Bug reports on specific script pages will be ignored.

Animated Battlers

Holders Animated Battlers for RPG Maker MZ, MV, VX Ace & XP